Santa Fe County Under Partial Fireworks Ban

Jun 13, 2012

The Santa Fe Board of County Commissioners has voted to ban certain fireworks in parts of Santa Fe County. The recent vote means unincorporated portions of Santa Fe County cannot sale or use missile-type rockets, helicopters, aerial spinners, stick-type rockets and ground audible devices.

In addition, all fireworks within the wildlands in Santa Fe County are banned as July 4th approaches. The move comes as the county continues to suffer from severe drought conditions.

Officials say the use of fireworks that aren't banned is limited to the areas that are paved, barren or have readily accessible water.