Susan Thom Loubet http://kunm.org en Charlotte Bunch Discusses Her Passionate Politics http://kunm.org/post/charlotte-bunch-discusses-her-passionate-politics <p> Activist Charlotte Bunch talks with Susan Loubet about growing up in New Mexico and her path to activism and women's rights. Bunch founded the Women's Center for Global Leadership at Rutgers University. She has been an outspoken advocate for women's rights and global human rights. A documentary about her life, <a href="http://passionatepoliticsfilm.com/">"Passionate Politics: The Life and Work of Charlotte Bunch,"</a> screened at the Albuquerque Film and Media Experience.</p><p></p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 23:45:27 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 46965 at http://kunm.org Charlotte Bunch Discusses Her Passionate Politics Former Professor Works To Eliminate Domestic Violence Among Latino Immigrants http://kunm.org/post/former-professor-works-eliminate-domestic-violence-among-latino-immigrants <p>Antoinette Sedillo Lopez talks to Susan Loubet about her decision to retire from the University of New Mexico Law School to take over leadership of Enlace Comunitario, which focuses on curtailing domestic violence among Latino immigrant communities.</p><p></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 04:13:59 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 46185 at http://kunm.org Former Professor Works To Eliminate Domestic Violence Among Latino Immigrants Women Drawn to Santa Fe in the 1920s http://kunm.org/post/women-drawn-santa-fe-1920s <p>Mary Cabot Wheelwright came from Boston in the 1920s and not only founded the Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian in Santa Fe, but also maintained Los Luceros, called "An elegant 1800s Territorial-style hacienda-a romantic treasure. " Wed, 23 Apr 2014 00:35:50 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 44101 at http://kunm.org Women Drawn to Santa Fe in the 1920s Women Friends--Key to Long Life http://kunm.org/post/women-friends-key-long-life <p></p><p>Sat, 5/18 12pm: "One of the best things a woman can do for her health is to nurture her relationships with her girlfriends, especially after the age of 50," says <strong>Suzanne Braun Levine</strong> in her new e-book <strong><em>You Gotta Have Girlfriends: A Post-Fifty Posse is Good For You Health.</em></strong></p><p> Mon, 27 May 2013 19:44:45 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 29799 at http://kunm.org Women Friends--Key to Long Life Women's Power in the 2012 Election http://kunm.org/post/womens-power-2012-election <p>Gloria Steinem, speaking before the November election talks about the power of women as voters and elected officials. Sun, 18 Nov 2012 07:15:19 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 21434 at http://kunm.org Women's Power in the 2012 Election We Meet Patricia Wells in her Paris Kitchen http://kunm.org/post/we-meet-patricia-wells-her-paris-kitchen <p>Capitol of gastronomy and art of cooking explained.</p><p> Sun, 18 Nov 2012 06:27:54 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 21433 at http://kunm.org We Meet Patricia Wells in her Paris Kitchen The Woman Behind the Voice From Paris http://kunm.org/post/woman-behind-voice-paris <p></p><p></p><p>Eleanor Beardsley's persistence and luck led to her covering the first rebellion of the Arab Spring- in Tunisia.</p><p></p><p> Sun, 18 Nov 2012 05:36:16 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 21432 at http://kunm.org The Woman Behind the Voice From Paris Candidates on Women's Issues-Federal http://kunm.org/post/candidates-womens-issues-federal-0 <p>Candidates for the US House or Representatives talk to us about <strong>women's issues</strong>: reproductive health, social security, job equality and more. Sat, 27 Oct 2012 13:45:45 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 20280 at http://kunm.org Candidates on Women's Issues-Federal Look Back At Women's History in New Mexico http://kunm.org/post/look-back-womens-history-new-mexico <p><strong>Anne Bingaman</strong> is not only the wife of our NM Senator, but she was also the <strong>first woman law professor</strong> at UNM Law School and closely involved with New Mexico's <strong>ERA</strong>. Wed, 29 Aug 2012 23:15:50 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 17871 at http://kunm.org Look Back At Women's History in New Mexico A Family of Native American Women Artists-The Record Set Straight http://kunm.org/post/family-native-american-women-artists-record-set-straight <p>Three biographies of renowned women artists are released this Indian Market week. Here are interviews with the authors and their readings of excerpts. Sun, 26 Aug 2012 17:03:56 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 17336 at http://kunm.org A Family of Native American Women Artists-The Record Set Straight Local Sikh Woman Travels the World Teaching Paths to Better Health http://kunm.org/post/local-sikh-woman-travels-world-teaching-paths-better-health <p>Mukta Kaur Khalsa, who studied with now-deceased Yogi Bhajan of Espanola, is teaching a combination of ways to better health and loss of addiction. Sun, 26 Aug 2012 16:07:46 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 17627 at http://kunm.org Local Sikh Woman Travels the World Teaching Paths to Better Health Common Mistaken Beliefs Re Medicaid http://kunm.org/post/common-mistaken-beliefs-re-medicaid <p>Ellen Pinnes, Medicaid Coalition member and health care activist, has put together a fact sheet called <em><strong>Medicaid&nbsp; 101</strong></em>. Mon, 30 Jul 2012 18:21:30 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 16297 at http://kunm.org Can Getting Organized Really Make You Healthier? http://kunm.org/post/can-getting-organized-really-make-you-healthier <p><strong>Miriam Ortiz y Pino </strong>will be back on Women&#39;s Focus--</p><p>this time talking about clutter and your health.</p><p> Sat, 28 Jul 2012 06:18:24 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 16206 at http://kunm.org Can Getting Organized Really Make You Healthier? History, Art, and Making Life Easier: Today on Women's Focus http://kunm.org/post/history-art-and-making-life-easier-today-womens-focus <p>Sat, Jun 23, 12pm: <strong>Anne Bingaman</strong>, her life in New Mexico and Washington; <strong>Judy Chicago</strong>, &quot;<em>ReViewing</em> <em>Power Play</em>&quot; examining the construct of masculinity;<strong> Miriam Ortiz y Pino,</strong> More Than Organized, <em>Rearranging</em>. Sat, 23 Jun 2012 15:01:01 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 14624 at http://kunm.org History, Art, and Making Life Easier: Today on Women's Focus How to Exercise Better, Train Smarter, Live Longer http://kunm.org/post/how-exercise-better-train-smarter-live-longer <p>Sat, Jun 9, 12pm: Santa Fe writer Gretchen Reynolds&#39;s weekly column on health and fitness is one of the most popular features in the <em>NY Times</em>. Her book, <strong><em>The First 20 Minutes, </em></strong>brings us the latest research on how to be healthier. Fri, 08 Jun 2012 22:47:37 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 13933 at http://kunm.org How to Exercise Better, Train Smarter, Live Longer NM CD 1, Likely Our Closest Primary Race- About Women's Issues http://kunm.org/post/nm-cd-1-likely-our-closest-primary-race-about-womens-issues <p>Sat, May 19, 12pm:Candidates&nbsp; <strong>Michelle Lujan Grisham, Eric Griego, </strong>and <strong>Marty Chavez</strong> talk about their campaigns and about women&#39;s issues. Mon, 04 Jun 2012 22:02:23 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 13685 at http://kunm.org NM CD 1, Likely Our Closest Primary Race- About Women's Issues Civil Rights and Women's Activist Dolores Huerta Honored with Medal of Freedom http://kunm.org/post/civil-rights-and-womens-activist-dolores-huerta-honored-medal-freedom <p><strong>5/29,&nbsp; Dolores Huerta</strong> receives the<strong> Presidential Medal of Honor,</strong> our Nation&rsquo;s highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. Tue, 29 May 2012 01:43:08 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 13345 at http://kunm.org Civil Rights and Women's Activist Dolores Huerta Honored with Medal of Freedom A Conversation Between Two Major Women Native American Artists http://kunm.org/post/conversation-between-two-major-women-native-american-artists <p>Two Santa Fe museums are honoring two major Native American women artists with exhibits this year.&nbsp; Fri, 27 Apr 2012 21:11:47 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 11948 at http://kunm.org A Conversation Between Two Major Women Native American Artists You Can Find Wisdom and Healing After Crisis http://kunm.org/post/you-can-find-wisdom-and-healing-after-crisis <p>Sat. 4/ 14 12pm:&nbsp; Psychologist Gail Feldman has dealt with life-altering crises and has become stronger and wiser.&nbsp; Sat, 14 Apr 2012 17:03:29 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 11332 at http://kunm.org You Can Find Wisdom and Healing After Crisis How Women Are Redefining Their Lives After Fifty http://kunm.org/post/how-women-are-redefining-their-lives-after-fifty-0 <p>Sat. 1/14 12p: Suzanne Braun Levine, Author of <em>Inventing the Rest of Our Lives</em> and <em>Fifty is the New Fifty</em>, brings us<strong><em> How We Love Now: Sex and the New Intimacy In Second Adulthood</em></strong>.&nbsp; Fri, 13 Jan 2012 14:40:43 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 6938 at http://kunm.org How Women Are Redefining Their Lives After Fifty Film Shows That Babies Are Born with Connection to Others http://kunm.org/post/film-shows-babies-are-born-connection-others-0 <p>Sat.&nbsp; 12/10 12pm: Dec 17 will mark the Western US premiere in Albuquerque&nbsp; of <em>The Connected Baby</em>,<em> </em>a film that demonstrates how babies form emotional connections-even before birth.&nbsp; Dr Suzanne Zeedyk worked with filmmaker Jonathan Robertson to bring to life her research on babies&#39; innate ability to communicate and connect with other people. Mon, 12 Dec 2011 04:03:53 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 5322 at http://kunm.org Film Shows That Babies Are Born with Connection to Others Innovative Indian Women's Museum Planned for Santa Fe http://kunm.org/post/innovative-indian-womens-museum-planned-santa-fe <p>Sat, 11/19 1pm: Santa Clara native&nbsp; Pablita Velarde&nbsp; and Helen Hardin-mother and daughter-are inspiration for the first museum dedicated to American Indian Women artists, which is taking shape in Santa Fe. Margarete Bagshaw, the third generation in this family of pioneering women painters and an artist in her own right, is heading up the effort to make a place where talented Indian women artists will study and show their work. Sun, 20 Nov 2011 23:23:03 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 4312 at http://kunm.org Innovative Indian Women's Museum Planned for Santa Fe Woman Who Leads Overhaul of New Mexico Medicaid Ready to Tackle Tough Requirements http://kunm.org/post/woman-who-leads-overhaul-new-mexico-medicaid-ready-tackle-tough-requirements <p>Sat. 9/24 12p: Alicia Smith planned to retire here but instead she is leading New Mexico&#39;s Medicaid modernization effort- armed with her experience from other states. She says that changes are necessary. Fri, 28 Oct 2011 17:52:14 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 3172 at http://kunm.org Woman Who Leads Overhaul of New Mexico Medicaid Ready to Tackle Tough Requirements Women Victims of Rape in the Military http://kunm.org/post/women-victims-rape-military <p>Sat. 10/15 12p: Former Marine Corps Captain Anu&nbsp;Bhagwati&nbsp;is bringing national attention to the high price women pay to serve our country.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 26 Oct 2011 21:06:46 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 3087 at http://kunm.org Women Victims of Rape in the Military Featuring Local Authors: Ana Baca, Noel Chilton & Susan Gardner http://kunm.org/post/featuring-local-authors-ana-baca-noel-chilton-susan-gardner <p>Sat. 9/10 at noon: This week on Women's Focus, Susan Loubet talks with three local authors - artist and poet Susan Gardner on her memoir "Drawing the Line" and Ana Baca and Noel Chilton on their delicious children's story "Tia's Tamales."</p> Sat, 03 Sep 2011 15:55:00 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 1463 at http://kunm.org Featuring Local Authors: Ana Baca, Noel Chilton & Susan Gardner Mary Lance & Yolanda Berumen-Deines http://kunm.org/post/mary-lance-yolanda-berumen-deines <p>Sat. 6/25 at noon: Susan Loubet talks with New Mexico Children, Youth and Families Department Secretary, Yolanda Berumen-Deine. And, Sara Voorhees interviews filmmaker Mary Lance about her latest film, Blue Alchemy, which explores the rich cultural roots of the indigo plant and its current role in sustainable development.</p> Sat, 18 Jun 2011 19:23:00 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 1380 at http://kunm.org Mary Lance & Yolanda Berumen-Deines Interviews with Liz Canner, Eve Espey, and more http://kunm.org/post/interviews-liz-canner-eve-espey-and-more <p>Sat. 4/16 at noon: Susan Loubet talks with Liz Canner, director of Orgasm, Inc, a film that runs at the Guild Theater in Albuquerque, April 17-19th. Plus, an interview with Eve Espey, UNM professor of OB/Gyn, commenting on female sexual dysfunction and what they teach the doctors at UNM. Tune in for these, and many more intriguing interviews this Saturday on Women's Focus.</p> Sat, 09 Apr 2011 18:44:00 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 1287 at http://kunm.org Interviews with Liz Canner, Eve Espey, and more An Interview with Mary Stange http://kunm.org/post/interview-mary-stange <p>Sat. 2/19 at noon: Montana rancher and author Mary Stange talks with Susan Loubet about her new book "Hard Grass: Live on the Crazy Woman Bison Ranch."</p> Sat, 12 Feb 2011 16:41:00 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 1209 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Mary Stange Interviews with C.S. Merrill & Myra Maher http://kunm.org/post/interviews-cs-merrill-myra-maher <p>Sat. 1/29: Host Susan Loubet interviews Myra Maher about her recent trip to Cuba. And, an interview with poet C.S. Merrill, once a companion and assistant to Georgia O'Keeffe.</p> Fri, 28 Jan 2011 19:40:00 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 1189 at http://kunm.org Interviews with C.S. Merrill & Myra Maher An Interview with Kristie Miller http://kunm.org/post/interview-kristie-miller <p>Sat. 1/15: Kristie Miller is the author of a new book on Woodrow Wilson's wives, entitled "Ellen and Edith, Woodrow Wilson's First Ladies." Tune in for Susan Loubet's interview with Miller in Washington, DC, as well as an interview with Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords at the Women's National Democratic Club in November, 2009. Also featured is Giovanna Rossi on Women's Health.</p> Fri, 14 Jan 2011 20:47:00 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 1176 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Kristie Miller