What do state legislative election results mean for New Mexico?

Nov 7, 2012

Credit Stephanie Fitzgerald / Creative Commons

KUNM Call In Show Thu. 11/8 8a: There are lots of changes ahead in the state legislature after the election this week!

What does this mean for Republican Governor Susanna Martinez's agenda?  And what about local impacts across the state?  

You can email callinshow@kunm.org or post your comments online here.  We'll take your comments and questions live during the show.

277-5866 (locally in Albuquerque)

877-899-5866 (toll-free)


Details on some of the election results in state races:

Senate President Pro Tem Tim Jennings (D-Roswell) and Senate Majority Whip Mary Jane Garcia (D-Dona Ana),  lost their re-election bids to the GOP's Cliff Pirtle and Lee Cotter, respectively.  Senate Majority Leader Michael Sanchez (D-Belen) defended his seat against robust GOP challenger David Chavez.

In the state House, Democrat Stephanie Garcia Richard ousted Jim Hall (R-Los Alamos) while Democrat Nate Cote soundly beat incumbent Ricky Little (R-Chaparral).  The GOP's Monica Youngblood won her race in Ocate, beating Democrat Eloise Gift.  And Republican Jason Harper won a seat in Roswell against Democrat Donna Tillman.