Victories for Lujan, Pearce and Lujan Grisham

Nov 6, 2012

All three of New Mexico's congressional races have been decided, with the results indicating a small change in state politics.

According to the Associated Press, New Mexico voters have decided to grant U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Lujan, D-N.M., a third straight term representing the state's 3rd congressional district, while Rep. Steve Pearce, R-N.M., has wrapped up his fifth win in District 2, the state's southernmost congressional district.

Democrat Michelle Lujan Grisham has won the seat in District 1, bringing a key race against GOP candidate Janice Arnold-Jones to a decisive close, also according to the AP.

Lujan finished the race with 68 percent of the vote, while Pearce ended up with 59 percent. Fifty-eight percent of New Mexicans voted for Lujan-Grisham, while 42 percent chose her opponent, Janice Arnold-Jones.