Women's Focus http://kunm.org en Keeping Books In Our Lives. Part 1, Mira Jacob http://kunm.org/post/keeping-books-our-lives-part-1-mira-jacob <p>New Mexico welcomes home Corrales native <strong>Mira Jacob</strong>, whose just-published novel, <em>Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing</em>, sparked a bidding war among publishers. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 00:20:27 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 47952 at http://kunm.org Keeping Books In Our Lives. Part 1, Mira Jacob Women's News: Women Bear Brunt Of ISIS Violence http://kunm.org/post/womens-news-women-bear-brunt-isis-violence <p> June 21, 2014&nbsp; Women face violence and rape from Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS); women sterilized without consent in California prisons; Moroccan prime minister says women should stay at home; activists pressure Canadian government on missing aboriginal women; American Apparel fires CEO Dov Charney after years of sexual harassment complaints; girls called sluts for sexting, but prudes if they don't; new campaign focuses on economic security for women and families; Gary King targeted for wage discrimination in campaign ads; guard arrested for abusing women at Metropolitan Deten Sun, 22 Jun 2014 01:13:04 +0000 Megan Kamerick 46969 at http://kunm.org Women's News: Women Bear Brunt Of ISIS Violence Documentary Explores Anita Hill's Legacy - Extended Interview http://kunm.org/post/documentary-explores-anita-hills-legacy-extended-interview <p>It was a watershed event for American women, and American history.&nbsp; In 1991, African-American law professor Anita Hill walked into a political firestorm when she testified before the Senate Judiciary Committee during the confirmation process for Clarence Thomas, the first African-American nominee to the Supreme Court.</p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 00:46:14 +0000 Megan Kamerick 46968 at http://kunm.org Documentary Explores Anita Hill's Legacy - Extended Interview Andrea Feucht Talks Food, Blogging http://kunm.org/post/andrea-feucht-talks-food-blogging <p>Megan Kamerick talks with Andrea Feucht, author of "The Foodlover's Guide to Santa Fe, Albuquerque and Taos," about how she got into food writing and science coverage, her writing process and her tips for starting, and maintaining, a blog. Find her blog <a href="http://andreaworks.wordpress.com/">here</a>.</p><p></p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 00:33:54 +0000 Megan Kamerick 46967 at http://kunm.org Andrea Feucht Talks Food, Blogging Women's News: Maya Angelou Remembered http://kunm.org/post/womens-news-maya-angelou-remembered <p>May 31, 2014&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; Remembering Maya Angelou; Santa Barbara shooter left misogynist rants; perils of rural poverty revealed in rape and murder case in India; first menstrual hygiene awareness day; Forbes names 100 most powerful women; Sudan woman sentenced to lashes and death for adultery and apostasy; Texas woman files suit after giving birth in solitary confinement and baby died; Sweden elects feminist party to EU parliament; teen pregnancy declines, but remains high in New Mexico.</p><p></p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 00:23:25 +0000 Megan Kamerick 46966 at http://kunm.org Women's News: Maya Angelou Remembered Charlotte Bunch Discusses Her Passionate Politics http://kunm.org/post/charlotte-bunch-discusses-her-passionate-politics <p> Activist Charlotte Bunch talks with Susan Loubet about growing up in New Mexico and her path to activism and women's rights. Bunch founded the Women's Center for Global Leadership at Rutgers University. She has been an outspoken advocate for women's rights and global human rights. A documentary about her life, <a href="http://passionatepoliticsfilm.com/">"Passionate Politics: The Life and Work of Charlotte Bunch,"</a> screened at the Albuquerque Film and Media Experience.</p><p></p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 23:45:27 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 46965 at http://kunm.org Charlotte Bunch Discusses Her Passionate Politics Former Professor Works To Eliminate Domestic Violence Among Latino Immigrants http://kunm.org/post/former-professor-works-eliminate-domestic-violence-among-latino-immigrants <p>Antoinette Sedillo Lopez talks to Susan Loubet about her decision to retire from the University of New Mexico Law School to take over leadership of Enlace Comunitario, which focuses on curtailing domestic violence among Latino immigrant communities.</p><p></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 04:13:59 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 46185 at http://kunm.org Former Professor Works To Eliminate Domestic Violence Among Latino Immigrants Digital Latin America Explores Art And Technology http://kunm.org/post/digital-latin-america-explores-art-and-technology <p>Artists Jessica Angel and Claudia X. Valdes join Suzanne Sbarge and Teresa Buscemi of 516 ARTS to discuss the new Digital Latin America exhibit, which looks at the ways in which artists negotiate the complex terrain between global and local, virtual and real, and political and private, in the creation of work that proposes alternative understandings of technology, art and cultural exchange.</p><p></p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 03:58:55 +0000 Megan Kamerick 46184 at http://kunm.org Digital Latin America Explores Art And Technology Women Drawn to Santa Fe in the 1920s http://kunm.org/post/women-drawn-santa-fe-1920s <p>Mary Cabot Wheelwright came from Boston in the 1920s and not only founded the Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian in Santa Fe, but also maintained Los Luceros, called "An elegant 1800s Territorial-style hacienda-a romantic treasure. " Wed, 23 Apr 2014 00:35:50 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 44101 at http://kunm.org Women Drawn to Santa Fe in the 1920s Cancer Survivor Talks About The Healing Power Of A Plant-Based Diet http://kunm.org/post/cancer-survivor-talks-about-healing-power-plant-based-diet <p></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 14:13:58 +0000 Carol Boss 42255 at http://kunm.org Cancer Survivor Talks About The Healing Power Of A Plant-Based Diet The New Mexico Legislature-An Insider's View http://kunm.org/post/new-mexico-legislature-insiders-view <p>16 years as a senator in the New Mexico Legislature gave Dede Feldman lots of stories of both triumphs and defeats. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:19:40 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 40905 at http://kunm.org The New Mexico Legislature-An Insider's View Heart Of The City Examines Albuquerque's Core http://kunm.org/post/heart-city-examines-albuquerques-core <p><span style="line-height: 1.3em;">What does the condition of the city’s urban core say about the heart and soul of the city? <strong><em>Heart of the City</em></strong>, organized by 516 ARTS, is a collaborative project and exhibition that examine intersections of art, urban planning, cultural and economical development, education and community dialogue through a variety of lenses to focus on the urban center and identity of the city. Sat, 25 Jan 2014 20:41:20 +0000 Megan Kamerick 40503 at http://kunm.org Heart Of The City Examines Albuquerque's Core Abortion Ban Initiative Vote On Tuesday http://kunm.org/post/abortion-ban-initiative-vote-tuesday <p>Sat, 11/16, 12pm: Albuquerque. Both <strong>supporters</strong> and <strong>opponents</strong> of the <strong>anti-abortion initiative</strong> that will be on the ballot in Albuquerque on <strong>Tuesday, Nov 19</strong> have appeared on Women's Focus. Sat, 16 Nov 2013 15:53:25 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 37763 at http://kunm.org Exhibit Showcases Artists' Responses To Border http://kunm.org/post/exhibit-showcases-artists-responses-border <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.3em;">Kate Bonansinga, author of "Curating at the Edge: Artists Respond to the U.S./Mexico Border," talks about the companion exhibit "Art at the Border: 21st Century Responses" at <a href="http://516arts.org/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=313:art-at-the-border-21st-century-responses&amp;catid=55:exhibition">516 ARTS</a>. And artist Tania Candiana discusses her piece in the show as well.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 23:57:52 +0000 Megan Kamerick 36221 at http://kunm.org Exhibit Showcases Artists' Responses To Border Terry McMillan on Women's Focus http://kunm.org/post/terry-mcmillan-womens-focus <p style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;"><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">Saturday, Sept. 28 12p:</span>&nbsp; Carol Boss will talk with internationally acclaimed African American novelist, Terry McMillan. Her writing about strong black female protagonists has made her previous books&nbsp;<i>Waiting to Exhale&nbsp;</i>and&nbsp;<i>How Stella Got Her Groove Back&nbsp;</i>bestsellers. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 21:43:46 +0000 Lili Malkoski 35526 at http://kunm.org Terry McMillan on Women's Focus Court Favors Contraception Requirement http://kunm.org/post/court-favors-contraception-requirement <p></p><p></p><p>September 21, 2013</p> Sat, 21 Sep 2013 18:34:09 +0000 Megan Kamerick 35294 at http://kunm.org Court Favors Contraception Requirement Connecting Media Literacy to Food Justice http://kunm.org/post/connecting-media-literacy-food-justice <p>Sat. 9/14 12p: <span style="font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;">In another segment of <i>Revolutionary Soup </i>Carol Boss talks with Andrea Quijada, Executive Director of Media Literacy Project in Albuquerque, about the impact of media messaging on marginalized low-income communities and its relationship to the food choices people make and their health.</span></p> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 18:26:38 +0000 Carol Boss 34950 at http://kunm.org Connecting Media Literacy to Food Justice Deborah Madison on Women's Focus http://kunm.org/post/deborah-madison-womens-focus <p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 21:51:13 +0000 Lili Malkoski 33213 at http://kunm.org Deborah Madison on Women's Focus Young Jewish, Muslim And Christian Women Learn Peacemaking In Northern New Mexico http://kunm.org/post/young-jewish-muslim-and-christian-women-learn-peacemaking-northern-new-mexico <p>Sat. 7/20 12p: This year Creativity of Peace marks its tenth anniversary and Carol Boss talks with four young women from Palestine and Israel who are leaders at the organization's Summer Camp in northern New Mexico.&nbsp; The camp brings together high school girls from Israel and Palestine to live together for 3 weeks in Northern New Mexico. The young women of Jewish, Muslim and Christian faiths participate in a program aimed at preparing the next generation of female leaders and peacemakers in their countries.</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 15:45:59 +0000 Carol Boss 32242 at http://kunm.org Young Jewish, Muslim And Christian Women Learn Peacemaking In Northern New Mexico Texas Passes Restrictive Abortion Bill http://kunm.org/post/texas-passes-restrictive-abortion-bill <p>July 13, 2013</p><p>Texas Legislature passes restrictive abortion bill while protestors have tampons and other feminine products confiscated; Ireland allows abortion in limited circumstances; Malala Yousafzai addresses United Nations; women's rights under assault in Afghanistan; Women of the Wall blocked by Orthodox protestors; U.N. calls for stop to assaults in Egyptian protests;&nbsp; Church of England votes to ordain women bishops; Wimbledon stories overlook the fact that four British women have won the tournament since 1936; women sue city of Santa Fe over former police officer.</p> Sat, 13 Jul 2013 18:24:07 +0000 Megan Kamerick 32122 at http://kunm.org Texas Passes Restrictive Abortion Bill Revolutionary Soup: Nourishing the Heart and Small Intestine http://kunm.org/post/revolutionary-soup-nourishing-heart-and-small-intestine <p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 15:31:47 +0000 Lili Malkoski 31353 at http://kunm.org Revolutionary Soup: Nourishing the Heart and Small Intestine Show Puts Contemporary Native Artists In Spotlight http://kunm.org/post/show-puts-contemporary-native-artists-spotlight <p>516 ARTS in Albuquerque will premier "Land, Air, Seed" and "Octopus Dreams" on June 29. The show of contemporary Native artists explores issues of home and exile, displacement, and cultural reappropriation.</p><p>Megan Kamerick talks with curators Nancy Marie Mithlo, Suzanne Fricke and Beverly Morris, as well as artist Deborah Jojola of Isleta Pueblo and Suzanne Sbarge of 516 ARTS.</p><p></p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 23:06:25 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31157 at http://kunm.org Show Puts Contemporary Native Artists In Spotlight Report: Third Of Women Suffer Domestic Violence http://kunm.org/post/report-third-women-suffer-domestic-violence <p> June 22, 2013</p><p>A new report by the World Health Organization finds one in three women around the world suffer domestic violence.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 22:13:46 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31154 at http://kunm.org Report: Third Of Women Suffer Domestic Violence Air Force Names Woman To Sex Assault Prevention Office http://kunm.org/post/air-force-names-woman-sex-assault-prevention-office <p>June 8, 2013</p><p>The Air Force named Maj. Gen. Margaret H. Woodward to head its sexual assault and prevention office after the man heading that effort was arrested for sexual battery.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 21:54:49 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31153 at http://kunm.org Air Force Names Woman To Sex Assault Prevention Office President Calls Military Assaults A Security Threat http://kunm.org/post/president-calls-military-assaults-security-threat <p>May 19, 2013</p><p>President Obama calls sexual assault in the military a threat to national security.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 21:26:58 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31152 at http://kunm.org President Calls Military Assaults A Security Threat India Rocked By More Rape Protests http://kunm.org/post/india-rocked-more-rape-protests <p>April 27, 2013</p><p>The rape of a young girl brings protesters out into the streets once more in India.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 20:57:58 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31148 at http://kunm.org India Rocked By More Rape Protests Exposing Myths About Finance http://kunm.org/post/exposing-myths-about-finance <p>How our financial expectations have been shaped by myths about spending and saving Sat, 22 Jun 2013 14:46:01 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 31141 at http://kunm.org Exposing Myths About Finance Nuclear Disarmament and Revolutionary Soup with Feed the Hood http://kunm.org/post/nuclear-disarmament-and-revolutionary-soup-feed-hood-0 <p>Sat. 6/15 12p: Disarmament fellow and researcher for Reaching Critical Will Mia Gandenberger joins Carol Boss to discuss nuclear non-proliferation, and in another installment of Revolutionary Soup, volunteers from Project Feed the Hood discuss their organization. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 18:14:15 +0000 Lili Malkoski 30698 at http://kunm.org Nuclear Disarmament and Revolutionary Soup with Feed the Hood Women Friends--Key to Long Life http://kunm.org/post/women-friends-key-long-life <p></p><p>Sat, 5/18 12pm: "One of the best things a woman can do for her health is to nurture her relationships with her girlfriends, especially after the age of 50," says <strong>Suzanne Braun Levine</strong> in her new e-book <strong><em>You Gotta Have Girlfriends: A Post-Fifty Posse is Good For You Health.</em></strong></p><p> Mon, 27 May 2013 19:44:45 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 29799 at http://kunm.org Women Friends--Key to Long Life Things You Are Passionate About http://kunm.org/post/things-you-are-passionate-about <p>Getting the things you are passionate about into your schedule-advice from Miriam Ortiz y Pino Wed, 03 Apr 2013 00:59:09 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 27246 at http://kunm.org Things You Are Passionate About