Women's Focus http://kunm.org en Cancer Survivor Talks About The Healing Power Of A Plant-Based Diet http://kunm.org/post/cancer-survivor-talks-about-healing-power-plant-based-diet <p></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 14:13:58 +0000 Carol Boss 42255 at http://kunm.org Cancer Survivor Talks About The Healing Power Of A Plant-Based Diet The New Mexico Legislature-An Insider's View http://kunm.org/post/new-mexico-legislature-insiders-view <p>16 years as a senator in the New Mexico Legislature gave Dede Feldman lots of stories of both triumphs and defeats. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 22:19:40 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 40905 at http://kunm.org The New Mexico Legislature-An Insider's View Heart Of The City Examines Albuquerque's Core http://kunm.org/post/heart-city-examines-albuquerques-core <p><span style="line-height: 1.3em;">What does the condition of the city’s urban core say about the heart and soul of the city? <strong><em>Heart of the City</em></strong>, organized by 516 ARTS, is a collaborative project and exhibition that examine intersections of art, urban planning, cultural and economical development, education and community dialogue through a variety of lenses to focus on the urban center and identity of the city. Sat, 25 Jan 2014 20:41:20 +0000 Megan Kamerick 40503 at http://kunm.org Heart Of The City Examines Albuquerque's Core Abortion Ban Initiative Vote On Tuesday http://kunm.org/post/abortion-ban-initiative-vote-tuesday <p>Sat, 11/16, 12pm: Albuquerque. Both <strong>supporters</strong> and <strong>opponents</strong> of the <strong>anti-abortion initiative</strong> that will be on the ballot in Albuquerque on <strong>Tuesday, Nov 19</strong> have appeared on Women's Focus. Sat, 16 Nov 2013 15:53:25 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 37763 at http://kunm.org Exhibit Showcases Artists' Responses To Border http://kunm.org/post/exhibit-showcases-artists-responses-border <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.3em;">Kate Bonansinga, author of "Curating at the Edge: Artists Respond to the U.S./Mexico Border," talks about the companion exhibit "Art at the Border: 21st Century Responses" at <a href="http://516arts.org/index.php?option=com_content&amp;view=article&amp;id=313:art-at-the-border-21st-century-responses&amp;catid=55:exhibition">516 ARTS</a>. And artist Tania Candiana discusses her piece in the show as well.</span></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Oct 2013 23:57:52 +0000 Megan Kamerick 36221 at http://kunm.org Exhibit Showcases Artists' Responses To Border Terry McMillan on Women's Focus http://kunm.org/post/terry-mcmillan-womens-focus <p style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;"><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">Saturday, Sept. 28 12p:</span>&nbsp; Carol Boss will talk with internationally acclaimed African American novelist, Terry McMillan. Her writing about strong black female protagonists has made her previous books&nbsp;<i>Waiting to Exhale&nbsp;</i>and&nbsp;<i>How Stella Got Her Groove Back&nbsp;</i>bestsellers. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 21:43:46 +0000 Lili Malkoski 35526 at http://kunm.org Terry McMillan on Women's Focus Court Favors Contraception Requirement http://kunm.org/post/court-favors-contraception-requirement <p></p><p></p><p>September 21, 2013</p> Sat, 21 Sep 2013 18:34:09 +0000 Megan Kamerick 35294 at http://kunm.org Court Favors Contraception Requirement Connecting Media Literacy to Food Justice http://kunm.org/post/connecting-media-literacy-food-justice <p>Sat. 9/14 12p: <span style="font-family:&quot;Arial&quot;,&quot;sans-serif&quot;">In another segment of <i>Revolutionary Soup </i>Carol Boss talks with Andrea Quijada, Executive Director of Media Literacy Project in Albuquerque, about the impact of media messaging on marginalized low-income communities and its relationship to the food choices people make and their health.</span></p> Fri, 13 Sep 2013 18:26:38 +0000 Carol Boss 34950 at http://kunm.org Connecting Media Literacy to Food Justice Deborah Madison on Women's Focus http://kunm.org/post/deborah-madison-womens-focus <p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 21:51:13 +0000 Lili Malkoski 33213 at http://kunm.org Deborah Madison on Women's Focus Young Jewish, Muslim And Christian Women Learn Peacemaking In Northern New Mexico http://kunm.org/post/young-jewish-muslim-and-christian-women-learn-peacemaking-northern-new-mexico <p>Sat. 7/20 12p: This year Creativity of Peace marks its tenth anniversary and Carol Boss talks with four young women from Palestine and Israel who are leaders at the organization's Summer Camp in northern New Mexico.&nbsp; The camp brings together high school girls from Israel and Palestine to live together for 3 weeks in Northern New Mexico. The young women of Jewish, Muslim and Christian faiths participate in a program aimed at preparing the next generation of female leaders and peacemakers in their countries.</p> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 15:45:59 +0000 Carol Boss 32242 at http://kunm.org Young Jewish, Muslim And Christian Women Learn Peacemaking In Northern New Mexico Texas Passes Restrictive Abortion Bill http://kunm.org/post/texas-passes-restrictive-abortion-bill <p>July 13, 2013</p><p>Texas Legislature passes restrictive abortion bill while protestors have tampons and other feminine products confiscated; Ireland allows abortion in limited circumstances; Malala Yousafzai addresses United Nations; women's rights under assault in Afghanistan; Women of the Wall blocked by Orthodox protestors; U.N. calls for stop to assaults in Egyptian protests;&nbsp; Church of England votes to ordain women bishops; Wimbledon stories overlook the fact that four British women have won the tournament since 1936; women sue city of Santa Fe over former police officer.</p> Sat, 13 Jul 2013 18:24:07 +0000 Megan Kamerick 32122 at http://kunm.org Texas Passes Restrictive Abortion Bill Revolutionary Soup: Nourishing the Heart and Small Intestine http://kunm.org/post/revolutionary-soup-nourishing-heart-and-small-intestine <p> Thu, 27 Jun 2013 15:31:47 +0000 Lili Malkoski 31353 at http://kunm.org Revolutionary Soup: Nourishing the Heart and Small Intestine Show Puts Contemporary Native Artists In Spotlight http://kunm.org/post/show-puts-contemporary-native-artists-spotlight <p>516 ARTS in Albuquerque will premier "Land, Air, Seed" and "Octopus Dreams" on June 29. The show of contemporary Native artists explores issues of home and exile, displacement, and cultural reappropriation.</p><p>Megan Kamerick talks with curators Nancy Marie Mithlo, Suzanne Fricke and Beverly Morris, as well as artist Deborah Jojola of Isleta Pueblo and Suzanne Sbarge of 516 ARTS.</p><p></p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 23:06:25 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31157 at http://kunm.org Show Puts Contemporary Native Artists In Spotlight Report: Third Of Women Suffer Domestic Violence http://kunm.org/post/report-third-women-suffer-domestic-violence <p> June 22, 2013</p><p>A new report by the World Health Organization finds one in three women around the world suffer domestic violence.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 22:13:46 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31154 at http://kunm.org Report: Third Of Women Suffer Domestic Violence Air Force Names Woman To Sex Assault Prevention Office http://kunm.org/post/air-force-names-woman-sex-assault-prevention-office <p>June 8, 2013</p><p>The Air Force named Maj. Gen. Margaret H. Woodward to head its sexual assault and prevention office after the man heading that effort was arrested for sexual battery.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 21:54:49 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31153 at http://kunm.org Air Force Names Woman To Sex Assault Prevention Office President Calls Military Assaults A Security Threat http://kunm.org/post/president-calls-military-assaults-security-threat <p>May 19, 2013</p><p>President Obama calls sexual assault in the military a threat to national security.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 21:26:58 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31152 at http://kunm.org President Calls Military Assaults A Security Threat India Rocked By More Rape Protests http://kunm.org/post/india-rocked-more-rape-protests <p>April 27, 2013</p><p>The rape of a young girl brings protesters out into the streets once more in India.</p> Sat, 22 Jun 2013 20:57:58 +0000 Megan Kamerick 31148 at http://kunm.org India Rocked By More Rape Protests Exposing Myths About Finance http://kunm.org/post/exposing-myths-about-finance <p>How our financial expectations have been shaped by myths about spending and saving Sat, 22 Jun 2013 14:46:01 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 31141 at http://kunm.org Exposing Myths About Finance Nuclear Disarmament and Revolutionary Soup with Feed the Hood http://kunm.org/post/nuclear-disarmament-and-revolutionary-soup-feed-hood-0 <p>Sat. 6/15 12p: Disarmament fellow and researcher for Reaching Critical Will Mia Gandenberger joins Carol Boss to discuss nuclear non-proliferation, and in another installment of Revolutionary Soup, volunteers from Project Feed the Hood discuss their organization. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 18:14:15 +0000 Lili Malkoski 30698 at http://kunm.org Nuclear Disarmament and Revolutionary Soup with Feed the Hood Women Friends--Key to Long Life http://kunm.org/post/women-friends-key-long-life <p></p><p>Sat, 5/18 12pm: "One of the best things a woman can do for her health is to nurture her relationships with her girlfriends, especially after the age of 50," says <strong>Suzanne Braun Levine</strong> in her new e-book <strong><em>You Gotta Have Girlfriends: A Post-Fifty Posse is Good For You Health.</em></strong></p><p> Mon, 27 May 2013 19:44:45 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 29799 at http://kunm.org Women Friends--Key to Long Life Things You Are Passionate About http://kunm.org/post/things-you-are-passionate-about <p>Getting the things you are passionate about into your schedule-advice from Miriam Ortiz y Pino Wed, 03 Apr 2013 00:59:09 +0000 Susan Thom Loubet 27246 at http://kunm.org Things You Are Passionate About India Imposing Stronger Penalties For Violence Against Women http://kunm.org/post/india-imposing-stronger-penalties-violence-against-women <p><span style="background-color: transparent; font-family: Arial; font-size: 15px;">In this week's news: India’s Parliament passes bill creating harsher penalties for crimes against women. </span> Sun, 24 Mar 2013 19:00:10 +0000 Megan Kamerick 26823 at http://kunm.org India Imposing Stronger Penalties For Violence Against Women Event Commemorates Murdered Women http://kunm.org/post/event-commemorates-murdered-women <p>A Prayer For Juárez and the West Mesa is a community art event on March 24 at 2 p.m. to remember the murdered women of Ciudad Juárez and those found on Albuquerque's West Mesa in 2009, as well as all victims of violence.&nbsp;</p><p> Sun, 24 Mar 2013 18:35:59 +0000 Megan Kamerick 26822 at http://kunm.org Event Commemorates Murdered Women New Show Explores Surfaces In Art http://kunm.org/post/new-show-explores-surfaces-art <p></p><p>A new show at <a href="http://516arts.org/">516 ARTS</a> in Albuquerque features diverse visual art media that explores the idea of surfaces through painting, sculpture, photography, electronic media and performance art. Some surfaces tantalize, some fortify and some allow us just a peek inside. Megan Kamerick talks with curator Lea Anderson and artists Jennifer Cawley, Jessica Kennedy and Alex Kraft.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 14 Mar 2013 21:28:51 +0000 Megan Kamerick 26403 at http://kunm.org New Show Explores Surfaces In Art Obama Signs VAWA Reauthorization Bill http://kunm.org/post/obama-signs-vawa-reauthorization-bill <p>After months of delay in Congress, the Violence Against Women Act is reauthorized, Arkansas adopts most restrictive law on abortion, Vatican, Russia and Iran oppose language on eliminating violence against women, UN investigator says empowering women would reduce hunger, the Balkans get less macho, Obama nominates two women to cabinet posts and a woman to head the Air Force Academy, news study shows life expectancy falling for U.S. women, Afghanistan marks International Women's Day with first women's film festival, Hannah Skandera confirmation hearing continues in New Mexico Legislature.</p><p> Sat, 09 Mar 2013 21:51:33 +0000 Megan Kamerick 26163 at http://kunm.org Obama Signs VAWA Reauthorization Bill Journalist Sara Ganim Talks About Breaking Jerry Sandusky Story http://kunm.org/post/journalist-sara-ganim-talks-about-breaking-jerry-sandusky-story <p></p><p>Megan Kamerick talks with Sara Ganim about the stories that landed her a Pulitzer Prize at age 24. Ganim wrote the first stories about Jerry Sandusky,&nbsp; a former Penn State University coach convicted of molesting young boys.</p><p></p> Sat, 09 Mar 2013 21:33:44 +0000 Megan Kamerick 26162 at http://kunm.org Journalist Sara Ganim Talks About Breaking Jerry Sandusky Story One Billion Rising Events Take Place Worldwide http://kunm.org/post/one-billion-rising-events-take-place-worldwide <p></p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 16:24:24 +0000 Megan Kamerick 25583 at http://kunm.org One Billion Rising Events Take Place Worldwide Pentagon Lifts Ban on Women in Combat http://kunm.org/post/pentagon-lifts-ban-women-combat <p>Pentagon lifts ban on women in combat, renewed push on VAWA, report indicts India's treatment of women following gang rape and murder, Sundance welcomes more female directors while new study highlights gender gap, Obama appoints first woman to head SEC, Carlsbad legislator changes bill on rape and abortion.</p><p></p> Sat, 26 Jan 2013 18:40:55 +0000 Megan Kamerick 24205 at http://kunm.org Pentagon Lifts Ban on Women in Combat Film Explores Woman's Breast Cancer Journey http://kunm.org/post/film-explores-womans-breast-cancer-journey <p>New Mexico filmmaker Julie Reichert talks about her film "<a href="http://www.warriorwomanfilm.com/">Warrior Woman</a>," which will screen January 19, 20 and 21 at the <a href="http://www.guildcinema.com/">Guild Cinema</a> in Albuquerque. It&nbsp; tells a story of healing beyond physical recovery. Alice (played by Karen Young) has survived breast cancer, but her marriage and finances are falling apart and she is tormented by vivid, disturbing dreams. Emotionally raw, she feels compelled to protect her student, Thuy, from an abusive husband. Sat, 12 Jan 2013 20:03:40 +0000 Megan Kamerick 23624 at http://kunm.org Film Explores Woman's Breast Cancer Journey Women's Headline News - January 12, 2013 http://kunm.org/post/womens-headline-news-january-12-2013 <p>Suspects in India rape case to plead not guilty, Saudi Arabia grants women seats on top advisory council, Indonesian province seeks to ban female passengers straddling motorbikes, Facebook backs down over controversy on violence against women, Obama's cabinet becoming more male, New Mexico women push Rep. Steve Pearce on Violence Against Women Act</p><p></p> Sat, 12 Jan 2013 19:44:57 +0000 Megan Kamerick 23623 at http://kunm.org