Living On Earth http://kunm.org en Stanford Divests From Coal http://kunm.org/post/stanford-divests-coal <p class="p1"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Wed. 5/14 8a: Stanford University has given the divestment movement a huge boost by promising to pull their 18 billion dollar endowment from coal companies. Student activist Michael Peñuelas tells host Steve Curwood that he’s proud of his University, but the students will keep pushing for divestment from all fossil fuels.</p> Wed, 14 May 2014 14:38:17 +0000 Tristan Clum 45200 at http://kunm.org Stanford Divests From Coal High Court for the Environment http://kunm.org/post/high-court-environment <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 25.1875px; background-color: rgb(242, 249, 248);">Wed. 4/10 8a: President Obama is having trouble enforcing environmental and other regulations as vacancies continue on the second most important federal court in the country, the DC Circuit Court of Appeals.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 19:54:45 +0000 LeeMerrill 27472 at http://kunm.org High Court for the Environment Bee Keepers Sue EPA http://kunm.org/post/bee-keepers-sue-epa <p>Wed. 4/3 8a: A coalition of beekeepers and environmental organizations are suing the EPA to ban certain uses of a group of chemicals called neonicotinoids. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 20:53:02 +0000 LeeMerrill 27234 at http://kunm.org Bee Keepers Sue EPA India’s Coal Killing Thousands http://kunm.org/post/india-s-coal-killing-thousands <p>Wed. 3/20 8a: India is developing rapidly, and much of that growth is fueled by one of the dirtiest energy sources, coal. Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:47:15 +0000 LeeMerrill 26557 at http://kunm.org India’s Coal Killing Thousands National Parks on the Chopping Block http://kunm.org/post/national-parks-chopping-block <p>Wed. 2/27 8a:&nbsp;<span style="background-color: rgb(242, 249, 248); color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 25.1875px;">Unless there's a last minute deal between Congress and the White House, draconian spending cuts will take effect across the federal government on March 1st.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 22:45:49 +0000 LeeMerrill 25609 at http://kunm.org National Parks on the Chopping Block Starving Polar Bears http://kunm.org/post/starving-polar-bears <p>Wed. 2/20 8a: Polar Bears have long been the poster species for the problem of climate change. Tue, 19 Feb 2013 22:28:01 +0000 LeeMerrill 25294 at http://kunm.org Starving Polar Bears Booming Coal Exports Threaten the Great Barrier Reef http://kunm.org/post/booming-coal-exports-threaten-great-barrier-reef <p>Wed. 2/6 8a: UNESCO is threatening to take the Great Barrier Reef off its list of World Heritage sites in the wake of Australia’s decision to build new coal transport facilities on the Queensland coast. Tue, 05 Feb 2013 21:40:45 +0000 LeeMerrill 24648 at http://kunm.org Booming Coal Exports Threaten the Great Barrier Reef The Obama Administration Axes the CIA’s Climate Change and National Security Center http://kunm.org/post/obama-administration-axes-cia-s-climate-change-and-national-security-center <p>Wed. 12/5 8a: As one of the hottest years on record comes to a close, the CIA has decided to shutter its Center on Climate Change and Security. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 21:48:29 +0000 LeeMerrill 22097 at http://kunm.org The Obama Administration Axes the CIA’s Climate Change and National Security Center Superman of Astrophysics http://kunm.org/post/superman-astrophysics <p>Wed. 11/28 8a: He's an astrophysicist extraordinaire, and director of the Hayden Planetarium in New York City. Mon, 26 Nov 2012 20:16:39 +0000 LeeMerrill 21748 at http://kunm.org Superman of Astrophysics Denying Math and Science http://kunm.org/post/denying-math-and-science <p>Wed. 11/21 8a: Republican pundits often speak skeptically about climate change, just as they chose to ignore the mathematics projecting that their candidate would lose. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 21:26:11 +0000 LeeMerrill 21556 at http://kunm.org Denying Math and Science First Nation Challenges Expansion of Canada’s Tar Sands http://kunm.org/post/first-nation-challenges-expansion-canada-s-tar-sands <p>Wed. 10/31 8a: Canada’s tar sands cover an area the size of New York State. Now Shell Canada wants to expand its Jackpine tar sands mining operations, but several First Nations communities who live there fiercely protest the plans.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 30 Oct 2012 20:50:15 +0000 LeeMerrill 20591 at http://kunm.org First Nation Challenges Expansion of Canada’s Tar Sands Amtrak's Uncertain Funding Future http://kunm.org/post/amtraks-uncertain-funding-future <p>Wed. 9/19 8:00a: Amtrak's ridership is up and subsidies from the government are down. Yet many in Congress and Presidential hopeful, Mitt Romney, are calling to end federal funding for the national train system. Living on Earth’s Steve Curwood talks with Amtrak representative Steven Kulm.</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 21:50:53 +0000 Steve Curwood 18769 at http://kunm.org Amtrak's Uncertain Funding Future What Bats Can Tell Us About Aerodynamics http://kunm.org/post/what-bats-can-tell-us-about-aerodynamics <p></p><div>Wed. 7/18 8a: &nbsp;The hairs on bats&rsquo; wings bend in the breeze and trigger super-sensitive cells that help them register the speed and direction of the wind.&nbsp;Researchers want to use this information to improve wind sensors on airplanes. &nbsp; This and more on Living on Earth.</div> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 19:25:01 +0000 Tristan Clum 15711 at http://kunm.org What Bats Can Tell Us About Aerodynamics Limiting Carbon From Future Power Plants http://kunm.org/post/limiting-carbon-future-power-plants <p>Wed. 4/4 8a: The Environmental Protection Agency has proposed the first national standards to limit CO2 emissions from new power plants. Eric Schaeffer heads the watchdog group, the Environmental Integrity Project. He tells host Bruce Gellerman that the EPA&rsquo;s rules have some loopholes but could be a big tool in fighting climate change.</p> Tue, 03 Apr 2012 15:50:56 +0000 Bruce Gellerman 10808 at http://kunm.org Limiting Carbon From Future Power Plants Grand Canyon Safe from Uranium Mining http://kunm.org/post/grand-canyon-safe-uranium-mining <p>Wed. 01/18 8:30a: Interior Secretary Ken Salazar recently signed a 20 year moratorium on mining for uranium near the Grand Canyon National Park. Jane Danowitz of the Pew Environment Group tells host Bruce Gellerman that it would protect close to the park but surrounding lands are still under threat.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jan 2012 11:50:39 +0000 Tristan Clum 7123 at http://kunm.org Grand Canyon Safe from Uranium Mining Endangered Reindeer http://kunm.org/post/endangered-reindeer <p>Wed. 12/21 8a: Reindeer &ndash; also called caribou &ndash; are ubiquitous in the world&rsquo;s northern latitudes, but the populations closest to the North Pole are dwindling because of climate change. Now there is a push to list the large deer as endangered.</p><p> Mon, 19 Dec 2011 19:58:16 +0000 Tristan Clum 5716 at http://kunm.org Endangered Reindeer Young Activist Speaks Out in Durban http://kunm.org/post/young-activist-speaks-out-durban <p>Wed. 12/14 8a: Middlebury College student Abigail Borah interrupted a talk by Todd Stern, the chief U.S. negotiator at the climate summit, with a impassioned plea for a fair and legally binding treaty. Tue, 13 Dec 2011 22:04:31 +0000 Tristan Clum 5432 at http://kunm.org Young Activist Speaks Out in Durban Raising Kids in a Toxic World http://kunm.org/post/raising-kids-toxic-world <p>Wed. 6/1 at 8am: From pollution-induced asthma to arsenic embedded in playground equipment, the state of the environment is threatening the health of children. Author Sandra Steingraber talks about the challenges of parenting in a world with a changing climate. This and more environmental news, Wednesday morning at 8.</p> Wed, 25 May 2011 22:03:00 +0000 1343 at http://kunm.org Raising Kids in a Toxic World