Latino USA http://kunm.org en How I Stopped Drinking http://kunm.org/post/how-i-stopped-drinking We hear some words of wisdom about how one Latina stopped drinking, using faith and the support of Alcoholics Anonymous. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 47881 at http://kunm.org When a Friend is an Alcoholic http://kunm.org/post/when-friend-alcoholic Sometimes, alcoholism hits a bit too close to home. Maria Hinojosa talks with journalist Rose Arce about the cruelly ironic death of their friend Elaine Rivera. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 47882 at http://kunm.org Deena & Jay http://kunm.org/post/deena-jay Deena struggled with depression without treatment ever since she was a young girl. When her marriage begins to fall apart, she decides to seek medical help. But not everything goes as planned. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 47883 at http://kunm.org Dolores Huerta: A Loyal American Dissenter http://kunm.org/post/dolores-huerta-loyal-american-dissenter Since the founding of the U.S., loyal dissent has been a patriotic value. Host Maria Hinojosa talks about that value and the origin of "Si se puede," with labor leader Dolores Huerta. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 47537 at http://kunm.org A Dominican Cyclist in Harlem http://kunm.org/post/dominican-cyclist-harlem Former cycling champ Edwin Morel tells us why the sport is more expensive than you might think, life lessons he's learned riding a bike and why sports are good for everyone. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 47538 at http://kunm.org Vamos, USA?! http://kunm.org/post/vamos-usa The World Cup craze took over the US this summer, especially among soccer-loving Latinos. We took to the streets to ask Latinos what countries they're rooting for this World Cup. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 47539 at http://kunm.org Sabiduría: Sangre Fuerte http://kunm.org/post/sabidur-sangre-fuerte Sometimes, if you want to win, you gotta bluff. Latino USA's Senior Editor, Leda Hartman, shares her aunt's story of pretending with a bit of what she calls "sangre fuerte." Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 47253 at http://kunm.org Kidnapped in Caracas http://kunm.org/post/kidnapped-caracas Sometimes, pretending can save your life. Reporter Martha Dalton talks to a Venezuelan woman who pretended to be someone else in order to survive an 'express kidnapping' in Caracas. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 47254 at http://kunm.org Who is Gina Chavez? http://kunm.org/post/who-gina-chavez In songwriter Gina Chavez' album Up.Rooted, she explores her Latina identity from the perspective of an outsider carefully making her own way in. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 47255 at http://kunm.org Sabiduría: From the Mouths of Babes... http://kunm.org/post/sabidur-mouths-babes For our "Kids" episode, we took a trip to PS 154 in the South Bronx to get some life lessons from a group of fourth graders. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:16:00 +0000 editor 46923 at http://kunm.org Dress for Success? http://kunm.org/post/dress-success A little over a month ago a high school in North Texas suspended over 150 students for dress code violations. Was this poor timing, right before exams? Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:16:00 +0000 editor 46924 at http://kunm.org Reviving Mixteco http://kunm.org/post/reviving-mixteco In Watsonville, Calif., classes are taught in three languages – English, Spanish and Mixteco, an indigenous Mexican language. Without Mixteco books, teachers decided to write one. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:16:00 +0000 editor 46925 at http://kunm.org Sabiduría: Japanese-Peruvian Internment http://kunm.org/post/sabidur-japanese-peruvian-internment The internment of Japanese Americans is a notorious part of U.S. history. But more than 2,000 Latin Americans of Japanese ancestry were also interned here. We meet one survivor. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:30:00 +0000 editor 46612 at http://kunm.org Zumba for the Community http://kunm.org/post/zumba-community In New York, a free Zumba class helps immigrant women find community in their new home. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:30:00 +0000 editor 46613 at http://kunm.org Traveling While Brown http://kunm.org/post/traveling-while-brown For people of color, travel can bring all sorts of unexpected experiences, both good and bad. We talk to journalist and author Farai Chideya about how blending in or sticking out can affect travel. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:30:00 +0000 editor 46614 at http://kunm.org Sabiduría: Nebraska Marty http://kunm.org/post/sabidur-nebraska-marty Marty Ramirez was born in Scottsbluff, Nebraska, and grew up working the fields with his family. After college, he organized around Chicano rights. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:28:00 +0000 editor 46295 at http://kunm.org New Nebraskans Learn English http://kunm.org/post/new-nebraskans-learn-english Many immigrant groups helped settle Nebraska. One older woman who comes from a family of Irish immigrants is helping welcome the newest ones, by teaching them English. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:28:00 +0000 editor 46296 at http://kunm.org Driving Dreamers http://kunm.org/post/driving-dreamers Nebraska is one of two states in the nation that deny driver's licenses to Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Youth — often known as Dreamers. We speak with a group about their struggles. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:28:00 +0000 editor 46297 at http://kunm.org Sabiduría: A Special Olympics Athlete's Passion http://kunm.org/post/sabidur-special-olympics-athletes-passion David Rodriguez is a 16-year-old Special Olympics athlete who loves to compete. For this week's sabiduría, or words of wisdom, we hear from David and his mother about the joys of winning. Fri, 30 May 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 45985 at http://kunm.org Flirty Racism: It's a Thing http://kunm.org/post/flirty-racism-its-thing Flirty compliments often come off as racial micro-aggressions. Latino USA producer Camilo Vargas and VICE writer Rula Al-Nasrawi look at 'flirty racism' in the streets of New York City. Fri, 30 May 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 45986 at http://kunm.org Detainee Hunger Strikes http://kunm.org/post/detainee-hunger-strikes Undocumented immigrants have been on hunger strike at the Northwest Detention Center in Washington state to protest poor conditions. Ryan Katz reports from inside the detention center. Fri, 30 May 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 45987 at http://kunm.org Bad Stats http://kunm.org/post/bad-stats What happens when media misinterprets statistics? EthniFacts' Guy Garcia and Latino USA's senior producer, A.C. Valdez, break it down. Fri, 23 May 2014 22:33:00 +0000 editor 45686 at http://kunm.org Sabiduría: How Cosby Helped http://kunm.org/post/sabidur-how-cosby-helped For this week's sabiduría, Latino USA producer Daisy Rosario and Bill Cosby talk about their shared experiences with family and learning. Fri, 23 May 2014 22:33:00 +0000 editor 45684 at http://kunm.org A TV Diversity Report Card http://kunm.org/post/tv-diversity-report-card Latino USA producer Daisy Rosario grades the big TV networks on which ones got diversity right and wrong this season. Fri, 23 May 2014 22:33:00 +0000 editor 45685 at http://kunm.org A Mexican Nascar Star http://kunm.org/post/mexican-nascar-star When you think Mexico, you think NASCAR, right? Nope, didn't think so. But one driver's trying to change that. Germán Quiroga gives us some words of wisdom. Fri, 16 May 2014 19:28:00 +0000 editor 45330 at http://kunm.org Las Luchadoras http://kunm.org/post/las-luchadoras Lucha Libre, or wrestling, is a national pastime in Mexico. But these days, its stars are just as likely to be women as men. Fri, 16 May 2014 19:28:00 +0000 editor 45331 at http://kunm.org The Rolezinhos http://kunm.org/post/rolezinhos In Brazil, poor youth have started to meet in upscale shopping malls to socialize. These gatherings have become flash points in the lead-up to the World Cup. Fri, 16 May 2014 19:28:00 +0000 editor 45332 at http://kunm.org Zorro: America's First Superhero http://kunm.org/post/zorro-americas-first-superhero The creator of Zorro based the character on several real life Spanish and Mexican outlaws who operated in the West. But the masked hero went on to influence America's superheroes — Batman for one. Fri, 09 May 2014 16:34:00 +0000 editor 44997 at http://kunm.org Why Latino History Matters http://kunm.org/post/why-latino-history-matters Historian Felipe Fernandez-Armesto explains why the United States needs to embrace its history as a Latin American nation. Then, back to Laredo for what our country's Latino future might look like. Fri, 02 May 2014 18:32:00 +0000 editor 44694 at http://kunm.org Making Hispanics http://kunm.org/post/making-hispanics Before the 1980's, people of Latin American origin were classified as white. Author Cristina Mora tells Latino USA how the Census Bureau, activists and Univision created the Hispanic category. Fri, 02 May 2014 18:32:00 +0000 editor 44695 at http://kunm.org