Tristan Clum http://kunm.org en Globalquerque LIVE 7p - Midnight http://kunm.org/post/globalquerque-live-7p-midnight <p></p> Sat, 21 Sep 2013 21:33:00 +0000 Tristan Clum 35299 at http://kunm.org Globalquerque LIVE 7p - Midnight KUNM Broadcasts Live from the Albuquerque Folk Festival http://kunm.org/post/kunm-broadcasts-live-albuquerque-folk-festival <p><span id="docs-internal-guid-5c9ec86a-f235-7a34-b992-67cde4a6830d"><span style="font-size: 16px; font-family: 'Times New Roman'; background-color: transparent; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap;"><span style="font-family: Georgia, 'Times New Roman', Times, serif; font-size: 14px; line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>Sat. 6/1 10a: The Albuquerque Folk Festival returns to the grounds of the Albuquerque Balloon Museum and KUNM will be there too. Wed, 29 May 2013 21:38:14 +0000 Tristan Clum 29920 at http://kunm.org KUNM Broadcasts Live from the Albuquerque Folk Festival Revolutionary Soup: Nourishing the Kidneys and Bladder http://kunm.org/post/revolutionary-soup-nourishing-kidneys-and-bladder <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13.333333969116211px; line-height: normal;">Sat. 12/15 12p: &nbsp;</span><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13.333333969116211px; line-height: normal;">According to traditional Chinese medicine, winter is associated with the element of water and influences the health of the kidneys and the bladder.</span> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 15:33:00 +0000 Tristan Clum 22526 at http://kunm.org Revolutionary Soup: Nourishing the Kidneys and Bladder Native Harvest for a Modern World http://kunm.org/post/native-harvest-modern-world <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Geneva, Arial, Helvetica, Verdana, sans-serif; line-height: normal;">Fri. 11/23 8a: For centuries, the Taos Pueblo people lived entirely off their land.&nbsp; Sustainable agriculture was a way of life, but U.S. federal policies helped put an end to that. Food wasn’t grown at the pueblos; it was trucked in. Traditional farming gave way to government subsidies and obesity rates soared. Wed, 21 Nov 2012 18:02:48 +0000 Tristan Clum 21602 at http://kunm.org Native Harvest for a Modern World Santa Clara Pueblo - Las Conchas Fire Gone, Damage Continues http://kunm.org/post/santa-clara-pueblo-las-conchas-fire-gone-damage-continues <p>Fri. 7/20 11a : Just over a week ago the Pueblo of Santa Clara in New Mexico declared a state of emergency due to recent flooding and damage as a result of last year&rsquo;s Las Conchas Fire. They are not the only tribe that is feeling the burn of major fires from months and years gone by. Over the years, devastating fires have not only wiped out wildlife, vegetation and landscapes but, they have also changed and challenged the environments and cultures of many tribes. How have Native nations faced flames even after they have been extinguished? Tue, 17 Jul 2012 19:34:30 +0000 Tristan Clum 15713 at http://kunm.org Santa Clara Pueblo - Las Conchas Fire Gone, Damage Continues What Bats Can Tell Us About Aerodynamics http://kunm.org/post/what-bats-can-tell-us-about-aerodynamics <p></p><div>Wed. 7/18 8a: &nbsp;The hairs on bats&rsquo; wings bend in the breeze and trigger super-sensitive cells that help them register the speed and direction of the wind.&nbsp;Researchers want to use this information to improve wind sensors on airplanes. &nbsp; This and more on Living on Earth.</div> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 19:25:01 +0000 Tristan Clum 15711 at http://kunm.org What Bats Can Tell Us About Aerodynamics The KUNM Radio Board Needs You http://kunm.org/post/kunm-radio-board-needs-you <p><b style="line-height: normal; font-weight: normal; "><span style="font-size: 15px; font-family: Arial; background-color: transparent; vertical-align: baseline; white-space: pre-wrap; ">In accordance with the UNM Regents Bylaws of the KUNM Radio Board, the Provost of the University will appoint three &ldquo;at large&rdquo; members to the Radio Board in August. &nbsp;The term of appointment is two years. &nbsp;Appointees will be expected to attend board meetings and serve on board committees. </span></b></p> Tue, 03 Jul 2012 14:56:42 +0000 Tristan Clum 15105 at http://kunm.org Hats off to Administrative Professionals http://kunm.org/post/hats-administrative-professionals <p>Wed. 4/25 11a: “Admins, the pulse of the office,” is the theme for the 2012 Administrative Professionals Day which, is today.</p> Tue, 24 Apr 2012 18:46:39 +0000 Tristan Clum 11773 at http://kunm.org Hats off to Administrative Professionals Is Luck Real? http://kunm.org/post/luck-real <p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 20:23:50 +0000 Tristan Clum 11261 at http://kunm.org Is Luck Real? Who Needs an English Major? The Future of Liberal Arts Education http://kunm.org/post/who-needs-english-major-future-liberal-arts-education <p>Sun. 4/15 11a: &nbsp;The most popular college major in America these days is business.&nbsp;Some students think it doesn&#39;t pay to study philosophy or history.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 20:16:39 +0000 Tristan Clum 11260 at http://kunm.org Who Needs an English Major? The Future of Liberal Arts Education Aura from ZBS’s Cabinet of Dr. Fritz series. http://kunm.org/post/aura-zbs-s-cabinet-dr-fritz-series <p>Sun. 4/15 6p:&nbsp;When Felipe&nbsp;Montero&nbsp;answers an ad, he meets an old woman, and her young niece Aura. But does the beautiful Aura actually exist?</p><p> Thu, 12 Apr 2012 19:44:27 +0000 Tristan Clum 11259 at http://kunm.org Aura from ZBS’s Cabinet of Dr. Fritz series. Don't Lecture Me: Rethinking How College Students Learn http://kunm.org/post/dont-lecture-me-rethinking-how-college-students-learn <p>Sun. 4/8 11a: In an increasingly competitive global economy the best jobs go to highly skilled workers who can think well and learn fast. Are today&#39;s college graduates up to the challenge? Many experts say no. In this program, American RadioWorks producer Emily Hanford explores how traditional approaches to teaching are failing to provide many college students with the knowledge they need. Fri, 06 Apr 2012 18:37:36 +0000 Tristan Clum & American Public Media 11002 at http://kunm.org Don't Lecture Me: Rethinking How College Students Learn A Conversation With Author Poet Activist Luis Rodriguez http://kunm.org/post/conversation-author-poet-activist-luis-rodriguez <p>Mon. 4/9 &nbsp;7p: Rodriguez follows up his critically acclaimed Always Running: La Vida Loca: Gang Days in L.A. with the recently published It Calls You Back: An Odyssey through Love, Addiction, Revolutions, and Healing. He joins us for a conversation on his recent memoir, on writing, and on relevant social issues.</p><div>&nbsp;</div> Tue, 03 Apr 2012 18:09:12 +0000 Tristan Clum & George Luna-Pena 10812 at http://kunm.org A Conversation With Author Poet Activist Luis Rodriguez An Interview with An Eagle http://kunm.org/post/interview-eagle <p>&nbsp;</p><div>Mon. 4/2 11a: A scientific breakthrough from a laboratory in New Mexico has given the animals the ability to speak. Fri, 30 Mar 2012 20:55:22 +0000 Tristan Clum 10673 at http://kunm.org An Interview with An Eagle Empoderate http://kunm.org/post/empoderate <p>&nbsp;</p><div>Mon. 4/2 8:30a: There are more than 30 LGBTQ youth centers across the U.S., but few target the Spanish-speaking community. Fri, 30 Mar 2012 20:44:57 +0000 Tristan Clum 10670 at http://kunm.org Empoderate Living with Alzheimer's http://kunm.org/post/living-alzheimers <p>Mon. 3/26 8:30a: We continue our yearlong reporting series on health issues and Latinos. María Hinojosa spends time with the Obando family in Queens, New York, to give you a glimpse of what it&rsquo;s like to live with Alzheimer&rsquo;s disease. And for the news, María Hinojosa speaks to Dr. Christian Maisch, a professor and the associate dean of the Washington Semester program at American University in Washington, DC.</p> Mon, 26 Mar 2012 14:28:28 +0000 Tristan Clum & Maria Hinojosa 10373 at http://kunm.org Living with Alzheimer's Poverty's New Face: Women http://kunm.org/post/povertys-new-face-women <p>Wed. 3/21 11a: It&#39;s been said poverty in America officially has a new face: women.&nbsp;The numbers say more than half of the 46.2 million Americans living in poverty are women.</p><p> Tue, 20 Mar 2012 19:21:47 +0000 Tristan Clum 10096 at http://kunm.org Poverty's New Face: Women Emira Woods on KONY 2012, Mike Elk on Labor Journalism http://kunm.org/post/emira-woods-kony-2012-mike-elk-labor-journalism <p>&nbsp;</p><div>Tue. 3/20 8:30a: &nbsp;The viral video Kony 2012, made by the US based group Invisible Children, calls for military action against African warlord Joseph Kony. It&#39;s been seen by more than 80 million people, AND it&#39;s been criticized for distorting the central African conflict and a paternalistic view toward Africans.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 19 Mar 2012 21:02:19 +0000 Tristan Clum 10050 at http://kunm.org Emira Woods on KONY 2012, Mike Elk on Labor Journalism Native in the Spotlight: Jessica Danforth http://kunm.org/post/native-spotlight-jessica-danforth <p>Tue. 3/20 11a. In honor of &nbsp;National Native American HIV/AIDS Awareness Day, &nbsp;and we&#39;re talking with one of the warriors on the frontline. Jessica Danforth (Mohawk) is the Founder and Executive Director of the Native Youth Sexual Health Network.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 19 Mar 2012 20:54:02 +0000 Tristan Clum 10048 at http://kunm.org Native in the Spotlight: Jessica Danforth The Parker Quartet http://kunm.org/post/parker-quartet <p>Mon. 03/19 9a: Two years ago, the Parker Quartet was just out of school, just learning the ropes of their professional careers and just named PT&#39;s first Young Artists in Residence. Since then, they&#39;ve earned praise for their concerts all over the world and won a Grammy Award. Recently they joined Fred Child in the studio for a little reunion of music and conversation.</p><p> Mon, 19 Mar 2012 14:58:16 +0000 Tristan Clum 10023 at http://kunm.org The Parker Quartet Tattoo Youth http://kunm.org/post/tattoo-youth <p>Fri. 3/02 8a: In this episode, youth in and around Santa Fe discuss the world of body modification.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 20:56:21 +0000 Tristan Clum 9182 at http://kunm.org Tattoo Youth Making Peace with Death http://kunm.org/post/making-peace-death <p>Fri. 2/24 8:30a: How can we find more internal peace when a loved one, or we ourselves, face death?</p><p> Thu, 23 Feb 2012 20:33:08 +0000 Tristan Clum 8818 at http://kunm.org Making Peace with Death The Sweet Taste of Humble Pie http://kunm.org/post/sweet-taste-humble-pie <p>Fri. 2/17 8a: What do you do when conflicts seem too large to bear? &nbsp;How do you make peace with your demons and face those cast as the enemy?&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 20:10:14 +0000 Tristan Clum 8498 at http://kunm.org The Sweet Taste of Humble Pie Music Maker: Silver Jackson http://kunm.org/post/music-maker-silver-jackson <p>Fri. 2/17 11a: Silver Jackson, the musical pseudonym of Native fine art artist Nicholas Galanin (Aleut/Tlingit), is helping to break open an era of Native music&rsquo;s folk sound with his new album &ldquo;It&rsquo;s Glimmering Now.&rdquo;</p><p> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:41:57 +0000 Tristan Clum 8497 at http://kunm.org Music Maker: Silver Jackson Moments That Shaped New Mexico's Character as a State http://kunm.org/post/moments-shaped-new-mexicos-character-state <p>Mon. - Fri. 12:04p:&nbsp;Centennial Journeys is a series of two-minute programs to educate the public about interesting and often overlooked pieces of New Mexico&rsquo;s history from the arrival of United States troops in 1846 to the present.</p><p> Tue, 31 Jan 2012 20:31:11 +0000 Tristan Clum 7769 at http://kunm.org Moments That Shaped New Mexico's Character as a State Grand Canyon Safe from Uranium Mining http://kunm.org/post/grand-canyon-safe-uranium-mining <p>Wed. 01/18 8:30a: Interior Secretary Ken Salazar recently signed a 20 year moratorium on mining for uranium near the Grand Canyon National Park. Jane Danowitz of the Pew Environment Group tells host Bruce Gellerman that it would protect close to the park but surrounding lands are still under threat.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jan 2012 11:50:39 +0000 Tristan Clum 7123 at http://kunm.org Grand Canyon Safe from Uranium Mining Canyon Records Celebrates 60 Years http://kunm.org/post/canyon-records-celebrates-60-years <p>Tue. 1/10 11a:&nbsp;Canyon Records is celebrating 60 years of Native American Music with a performance series called &quot;Traditions and Transformations.&rdquo; The Russian marine tanker Renda is making an historic fuel delivery to Nome, Alaska, which is suffering from a severe gas shortage. The 2012 Winter Symposium will be hosted by the Seminole Tribe of Florida&rsquo;s Native Learning Center. The Palms in Las Vegas, Nevada will be the site of the 5th annual &ldquo;National Casino and Hotel Development Conference.&rdquo;</p><p> Tue, 10 Jan 2012 19:14:30 +0000 Tristan Clum 6741 at http://kunm.org Canyon Records Celebrates 60 Years Glenn Greenwald on NDAA http://kunm.org/post/glenn-greenwald-ndaa <p>Tues. 01/10 8:30a: President Obama&#39;s signing of a defense bill including authorization for the indefinite detention of terror suspects--including U.S. citizens-- has been condemned by leading civil liberties voices. But the outrage has been somewhat obscured by a general confusion about what the bill means and the president&rsquo;s intentions. Salon columnist and former constitutional litigator Glenn Greenwald will sort that out for us.</p><p> Mon, 09 Jan 2012 18:05:43 +0000 Tristan Clum 6681 at http://kunm.org Glenn Greenwald on NDAA Seeking Peace on Earth: A Peace Talks Radio Special http://kunm.org/post/seeking-peace-earth-peace-talks-radio-special-0 <p>Fri. 12/30 8a: Compelling conversation excerpts from Peace Talks Radio shows on Nobel Peace Prize winners Martti Ahtisaari and Liu Xiaobo; heading off domestic and dating violence; Vietnam veterans finding peace by traveling back to Vietnam, an Alternatives to Violence program in prisons and more.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 26 Dec 2011 18:36:17 +0000 Tristan Clum 6043 at http://kunm.org Seeking Peace on Earth: A Peace Talks Radio Special True Stories Told Live Without Notes http://kunm.org/post/true-stories-told-live-without-notes <p>1/1 11a: Christian McBride, a jazz bassist, is put to the test by his idol, Freddie Hubbard; a down and out comic considers ending it all until the universe sends him an unlikely sign; and New York writer Adam Gopnik details his daughter&rsquo;s cosmopolitan imaginary friend.&nbsp;Hosted by The Moth&rsquo;s Artistic Director, Catherine Burns.</p><p> Mon, 26 Dec 2011 18:22:44 +0000 Tristan Clum 6042 at http://kunm.org True Stories Told Live Without Notes