All That Jazz http://kunm.org en Live In-studio: Trumpeter Lee Katzman http://kunm.org/post/live-studio-trumpeter-lee-katzman <p><span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">Thu.&nbsp; 1/5&nbsp;12p : Mark Weber will have in the studio the esteemed&nbsp;trumpeter Lee </span>Katzman<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; "> who was a long-standing member of the Stan Kenton Orchestra in the </span>50s<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, and worked on both coasts&nbsp;making records and playing with Bill Holman, Anita </span>O&#39;Day<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, Carl Fontana,&nbsp;Med </span>Flory<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, Jimmy </span>Rowles<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, Sonny </span>Stitt<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, Terry Gibbs, </span>Lennie<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; "> </span>Niehaus<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">,&nbsp;Claude </span>Thornhill<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, Bob </span>Dorough<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, </span>Supersax<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, June Christy, Shelly </span>Manne<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">, </span>Onzy<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; "> Matthews, Pete Jolly, etcetera, etc.&nbsp;&amp;c.</span></p><p> Tue, 03 Jan 2012 23:25:27 +0000 Mark Weber 6411 at http://kunm.org Live In-studio: Trumpeter Lee Katzman Live In-studio: Lewis Winn and Michael Olivola http://kunm.org/post/live-studio-lewis-winn-and-michael-olivola <p><span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">Thur. 12/22&nbsp;</span><span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">12</span>p<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; ">: Hooked up and LIVE will be Christmas tunes as delivered by local revered maestros Lewis Winn on guitar and Michael </span>Olivola<span style="background-color: rgba(255, 255, 255, 0.917969); font-family: Arial; font-size: small; line-height: normal; "> on double bass. Host Mark Weber.</span></p><p> Mon, 19 Dec 2011 21:27:10 +0000 Mark Weber 5723 at http://kunm.org Live In-studio: Lewis Winn and Michael Olivola The Music of Gildo Mahones http://kunm.org/post/music-gildo-mahones <p>Thurs. 9/8 at noon: Today we feature the music of Gildo Mahones whose crystalline perfectly balanced piano backed everyone from Sonny Stitt, Lorez Alexandria, Booker Ervin, James Moody, O.C.Smith, Benny Carter, Pony Poindexter, Jimmy Witherspoon, King Pleasure, and on and on. Mostly notably you know him from his years (1959-1964) he worked with Lambert, Hendricks, and Ross.</p> Thu, 01 Sep 2011 19:59:00 +0000 1462 at http://kunm.org Featuring Frank Marocco http://kunm.org/post/featuring-frank-marocco <p>Thurs. 9/1 at noon: Today we will be featuring the music of master jazz accordion maestro Frank Marocco, and talk with him Live via telephone from his home in Los Angeles.</p> Wed, 24 Aug 2011 19:01:00 +0000 Lee Merrill 1457 at http://kunm.org Featuring Frank Marocco An Interview with Bucky Pizzarelli http://kunm.org/post/interview-bucky-pizzarelli <p>Thurs. 8/18 at noon: Today we will be talking with the king of guitarists via long-distance telephone in upper New Jersey - Bucky Pizzarelli!</p> Thu, 11 Aug 2011 21:39:00 +0000 1446 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Bucky Pizzarelli An Interview with Bill Holman http://kunm.org/post/interview-bill-holman <p>Thurs. 7/21 at noon: We'll be talking with the maestro via telephone on this day and playing as much of his music as we can squeeze into a 90-minute slot.</p> Thu, 14 Jul 2011 22:52:00 +0000 1410 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Bill Holman An Interview with Dan Morgenstern http://kunm.org/post/interview-dan-morgenstern <p>Thurs. 7/14 at noon: Today we will be talking Live via telephone with possibly the pre-imminent scholar on jazz: Dan Morgenstern. Author of several books and thousands of jazz record liner notes and has been on the scene in the greatest jazz city in the world - New York City - throughout some of it's most compelling eras.</p> Thu, 07 Jul 2011 16:59:00 +0000 1403 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Dan Morgenstern An Interview with Connie Crothers http://kunm.org/post/interview-connie-crothers <p>Thurs. 7/7 at noon: Today we'll be talking via telephone with pianist Connie Crothers from her loft studio in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, New York.</p> Thu, 30 Jun 2011 20:19:00 +0000 1399 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Connie Crothers An Interview with James Newton http://kunm.org/post/interview-james-newton <p>Thurs. 6/23 at Noon: Tune in this week for an interview between Host Mark Weber and accomplished and versatile flutist, James Newton.</p> Thu, 16 Jun 2011 22:29:00 +0000 1379 at http://kunm.org An Interview with James Newton An Interview with Bobby Bradford http://kunm.org/post/interview-bobby-bradford <p>Thurs. 6/16 at noon: Mark Weber interviews jazz cornetist Bobby Bradford about his distinguished musical career and all things jazz-trumpet.</p> Thu, 09 Jun 2011 16:17:00 +0000 1365 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Bobby Bradford An Interview with Johnny Smith http://kunm.org/post/interview-johnny-smith <p>Thurs. 6/9 at noon: Tune in this Thursday afternoon for a live interview with jazz guitar legend Johnny Smith, and hear some of his tunes.</p> Thu, 02 Jun 2011 22:44:00 +0000 1360 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Johnny Smith J.A. Deane on the Radio http://kunm.org/post/ja-deane-radio <p>Thurs. 5/26 at noon: Avante-garde musician J.A. Deane joins Mark Weber in the studio to share music from some of the albums that influenced his art.</p> Thu, 19 May 2011 16:33:00 +0000 1324 at http://kunm.org J.A. Deane on the Radio Med Flory and Supersax New Mexico http://kunm.org/post/med-flory-and-supersax-new-mexico <p>Thurs. 5/19 at noon: Supersax founder Med Flory talks with Mark Weber and the sax section of Supersax New Mexico.</p> Thu, 12 May 2011 19:42:00 +0000 1320 at http://kunm.org Med Flory and Supersax New Mexico An Interview with Richard Tabnik http://kunm.org/post/interview-richard-tabnik <p>Thurs. 4/7 at noon: Mark Weber interviews jazz saxophonist Richard Tabnik live from his home in NYC. But first, J.A. Deane drops by to share his new CD.</p> Thu, 31 Mar 2011 17:07:00 +0000 1271 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Richard Tabnik Jazz and Japan http://kunm.org/post/jazz-and-japan <p>Thurs. 3/24 at Noon: This week on the Thursday jazz show we'll honor the contributions that Japan has brought to the music of jazz, and let them know that we are thinking about them in their time of sorrow and struggle in the aftermath of the recent earthquake and tsunami and near-nuclear nightmare.</p> Thu, 17 Mar 2011 15:23:00 +0000 1254 at http://kunm.org Jazz and Japan Jazz Music Meets the Beatles http://kunm.org/post/jazz-music-meets-beatles <p>Thurs. 3/3 at noon: Mark Weber spins jazz renditions of the Beatles.</p> Fri, 25 Feb 2011 17:46:00 +0000 1226 at http://kunm.org Jazz Music Meets the Beatles An Interview with Bill Smith http://kunm.org/post/interview-bill-smith <p>Thurs. 2/24 at Noon: Today we're going to feature the music of and talk to Bill Smith, one of the greatest jazz clarinetists to ever wet a reed. As well, one of the least acknowledged for his mastery.</p> Thu, 17 Feb 2011 17:35:00 +0000 1214 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Bill Smith Henry "Skipper" Franklin http://kunm.org/post/henry-skipper-franklin <p>Thurs. 2/17 at noon: Today we'll be featuring the music of Los Angeles bassist Henry Franklin who is known on the coast as The Skipper and his ensembles are his Crew.</p> Thu, 10 Feb 2011 19:15:00 +0000 1206 at http://kunm.org Henry "Skipper" Franklin Field Recordings, with Steven Schmidt http://kunm.org/post/field-recordings-steven-schmidt <p>Thurs. 1/27: Today on the Thursday jazz show we'll have as our guest a modern-day jazz preservationist who records the music in clubs and concerts from New York to New Mexico. Steven Schmidt will dig into his archive of field recordings and give us an update on what's going on out there.</p> Sat, 22 Jan 2011 23:09:00 +0000 1180 at http://kunm.org Field Recordings, with Steven Schmidt An Interview with Ted Brown http://kunm.org/post/interview-ted-brown <p>Thurs. 1/20: There are not very many saxophonists who can claim that they've played with both Warne Marsh or Lee Konitz and fewer yet who have played in that rarified atmosphere with Warne and Lee together at the same time. The only others being Hal McKusick and Jimmy Guiffre. Today we talk with tenor saxophonist Ted Brown live over the telephone from his home in New York City.</p> Tue, 18 Jan 2011 22:41:00 +0000 1178 at http://kunm.org An Interview with Ted Brown In Studio: John Trentacosta & Arlen Asher http://kunm.org/post/studio-john-trentacosta-arlen-asher <p>Thurs. 5/20: Host Mark Weber is joined by John Trentacosta of Straight Up, and KSFR jazz host Arlen Asher.</p> Wed, 12 May 2010 20:47:00 +0000 996 at http://kunm.org In Studio: John Trentacosta & Arlen Asher Jazz Conversations Continued, with David Parlato http://kunm.org/post/jazz-conversations-continued-david-parlato <p>Thurs. 4/1: We continue our discussion of the 1970s Los Angeles jazz scene with New Mexican David Parlato, who has played bass with everyone from Buddy Rich to Frank Zappa.</p> Fri, 02 Apr 2010 18:28:00 +0000 971 at http://kunm.org Jazz Conversations Continued, with David Parlato Live In Studio: Guitarist Michael Anthony http://kunm.org/post/live-studio-guitarist-michael-anthony <p>Thurs. 3/11: Our Live in-person guest will be New Mexican guitarist Michael Anthony.</p> Tue, 09 Mar 2010 22:19:00 +0000 984 at http://kunm.org Live In Studio: Guitarist Michael Anthony Trumpet Maestro Bobby Shew http://kunm.org/post/trumpet-maestro-bobby-shew-0 <p>Thurs. 3/4: Albuquerque native Bobby Shew spends his 69th birthday talking with host Mark Weber about all things trumpet.</p> Wed, 03 Mar 2010 16:54:00 +0000 985 at http://kunm.org Trumpet Maestro Bobby Shew